Bucket List

Some Spanish love.

I was exploring some Candy Chang projects, thanks to For a Life Inspired, and came across this dazzling community art installation. She took an abandoned house in New Orleans and turned one side into a chalkboard where the community can write what they want to do before they die, and now is featured in many cities worldwide. The one in New Orleans even got a “Certificate of Appropriateness” (and must be posted at all times).

Before I Die is an interactive public art project that invites people to share their hopes and dreams in public space. Painted with chalkboard paint and stenciled with the sentence “Before I die I want to _______”, the wall becomes an enlightening way to get to know your neighbors and discover what matters most to the people around you. It creates a public space for contemplation and reminds us why we want to be alive in the world today. It’s a question that changed Candy after she lost someone she loved very much, and she believes the design of our public spaces can better reflect what matters to us as a community and as individuals. This was the basis for her graduate thesis. Help energize your own community and make a wall with the Before I Die toolkit! Some of the writings on the wall stood out to me…

Before I die I want to…be okay with not understanding, be completely myself, hike the appalachian trail, own a monkey, dance fast, hug a sloth, understand why I’m here, truly live, among many more.

It would be interesting to see what matters the most to an entire neighborhood, and I personally would like to revisit my own bucket list. Some things to include would be designing my own house, working to live not living to work, picking up a saxophone and learning some Kenny G, sending smiles or compliments to someone new everyday, picking up one of my thirty recently purchases books, unplug in the wilderness once a month, and trying to make a difference. Wonder what this list will look like in a few years or so…

What would be on your bucket list? What do you want to do before you die?

About Zak Suhar

Googler. Mount Union graduate. Outdoor enthusiast. Perspective and jumping photographer. Entrepreneurial mind-setter. Green Bay Packer and Wisconsin sports fan.
This entry was posted in Art, Culture, Design, Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bucket List

  1. Hoo Sze Ling says:

    My desire is simple … to be enjoying myself in whatever that I do and wherever that I am!

  2. What an amazing project – I’d love to turn the corner and see that.
    To lose my ego to a state of acceptance and engagement would be pretty awesome : )
    Thanks for sharing such great stuff!

  3. Pingback: Candy Chang. My new favorite public artist. | housestory

  4. free penny press says:

    Crazy you blogged on this.. I wrote an article on this in NOLA (headed back there in a few weeks).Was saddened to hear this home is no longer used for this project😦..but a co-worker is working on this happening in her home country of Columbia..
    awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

