I was so Freshly Pressed!

Sunday July 17, 2011. I researched, contemplated, applied some aloe to my sunburnt back, researched some more, and was one click away from moving my blogging efforts to posterous. There is something about their sleek design and ability to support any media that really almost won me over. For some mysterious reason though, I put myself and computer to sleep. Monday July 18, 2011. The start to another long work week, but exciting since I am interning at TerraCycle. I start the day by checking my work email, but am puzzled by my Gmail notifier having roughly 25 new emails. Some first thoughts were, did my brother John just meet Yosemite “Hungry Bear” Vasquez while hiking out West? Which cousin had a baby now? Did my other brother Blake accidentally put me on one of his work email threads again about truisms?

18. I think the freezer deserves a light as well.
20. I wish Google Maps had an “Avoid Dangerous Neighborhood” routing option.
31. Sometimes I’ll look down at my watch three consecutive times and still not know what time it is.
 

Gmail inbox blowin’ up!

After seeing my unread inbox rapidly grow, and it only being noon, I knew something was fishy, and not Rockaway Tacos. Then I saw a considerable amount of messages from my blog and it hit me…I was freshly pressed! I reloaded my homepage umpteen times just to vindicate that this really happened. My immediate, and natural reaction was to play the Outkast song So Fresh So Clean. Fitting, right?

The other thing that hit me was coming to the realization that I just read a different blog post where the author was also recently freshly pressed, which was some inspiration for me writing this! Just to give you a sense of how fast my readers grew for the day, and how lucky I was for this fresh press business to happen, I think you should look at my site statistic charts below. At work I checked the viewers at 1:01 PM EST and there were 674 visits, by 2:49 PM EST it already grew to 1,016, and by the end of the day I had 2,370 visitors! Trickling into the next day I had 1,150 visitors which was a whopping 1,130 more than my regular 20 visits that I think are auto-generated from third party bogus sites. Let’s just say Juicebox isn’t the most popular kid in school.

As the views and subscribers kept on rising, so did my grin. One of my colleagues at work has a blog and I had to break the news to her. Also, I am sure everyone in the office was wondering why I had a hop in my step, and why I was checking my personal email liberally. I just find it so very ironic how I was one click away from leaving wordpress, and was looking up how to be featured on freshly pressed, literally the night before. Also, I have really contemplated switching the title of my blog. Please leave comments below on your thoughts, or new ideas! Keep it the same? Just have it say my name? Switch it to “Doggie Bounce“? I guess only time will tell until you are “so pressed and so clean clean.”

About Zak Suhar

Googler. Mount Union graduate. Outdoor enthusiast. Perspective and jumping photographer. Entrepreneurial mind-setter. Green Bay Packer and Wisconsin sports fan.
This entry was posted in Events, Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I was so Freshly Pressed!

  1. Pingback: The Sky is the Limit | Zak Suhar

Leave a Reply

