Wilderness Trip in the Adirondack Mountains

This past week, August 5 – August 14, I was fortunate to participate in my university’s Wilderness Trip in the Adirondack High Peaks in New York. For some course credit, myself and about 20 other students went to the woods to discuss environmental ethics, and to lead a rather simple life for a week.

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” – Thoreau

My smaller group of 8 was given the team name of “Team Donut,” when we decided to make a rest stop at Dunkin’ Donuts rather than McDonald’s. We quickly embraced this name, and referenced the hilarious video of former Cleveland Cavalier Delonte West. Please watch it here. With our team motto being “I don’t care if you gotta fly…planes, trains, and automobiles you better have my donuts,” we adopted some crafty nicknames like R-Nut, K-Sprinkle, and D-Hole. Somehow my nickname came out to be Big Spoon for having a rather comfy therm-a-rest sleeping pad, which somehow served many others besides myself. Thankfully I was referred to as Z Money for most of the trip. Aside from having too much fun, laughing most of the day, and engaging in unforgettable conversations, we had a pretty eventful trip. Our group was fortunate to hike through Cold Brook Pass, a stretch of trail that few hikers pass through because of its tough terrain. We also made it to the summit of Mt. Haystack, and Mt. Marcy, the highest point in the state of New York. We hiked a total of about 40 miles on the whole trip, 10.1 being our longest day when making both summits. It is crazy to think that people hiking the Appalachian Trail average about 20 to 25 miles a day hiking! We also had some great nights while staying in lean-to’s at Bushnell Falls and Lake Colden. Awesome views! What made our trip even more exciting was that we got to rock climb, repel, swim, visit Lake Placid and Inlet, and some of us paid to go on a half hour charter plane ride. Flying out of Long Lake we were able to see the mountains we climbed and Vermont ranges in the distance, which made for incredible views. I hope you enjoy some of my favorite pictures, because words can simply not describe this wonderful experience. Someone take me back to the mountains!

For more on the trip, please visit my facebook albums and youtube playlist!

About Zak Suhar

Student at Mount Union. Outdoor enthusiast. Perspective and jumping photographer. Entrepreneurial mind-setter. Green Bay Packer & Wisconsin sports fan.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Events, Outdoors, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wilderness Trip in the Adirondack Mountains

  1. Pingback: A Semester in the Woods | Zak Suhar

  2. Pingback: UMU Wilderness Trip in the Adirondacks | University of Mount Union Blog

Leave a Reply

