The Holstee Manifesto: Live Your Dream, Wear Your Passion.

The Holstee story is quite unique. “In the heat of the recession in May 2009, brothers Mike and Dave and their partner, Fabian started Holstee. More than a company, or clothes, the trio wanted to create a lifestyle. Starting in the summer of 2009 they dove head first into the world of design and production. After six months and a huge learning curve, Holstee launched it’s first line of Recycled Tees made of 100% recycled plastic bottles that were milled, cut and sewn within 150 miles of each other in North Carolina. Starting with this first round, 10% of all sales were lent to entrepreneurs in extreme poverty through non-profit micro-lending organizations like Kiva.org – a tradition they are proud to still embrace.

A few months later, Mike needed a new wallet and wasn’t finding the sort of functional and minimal design he was looking for so they decided to create their own. A few quick mock-ups and the idea of a Holstee Wallet came to life. Teaming up with an NGO in India that had perfected a method of using plastic bags collected off the streets of Delhi to create a unique 100% upcycled textile, they had prototypes in their hands a few weeks later of their new dream wallet. They made just enough for themselves and a few friends, each of whom instantly loved them. From there they decided to make a few more and sell them on Holstee.com along with their tees.

In the summer of 2010, Holstee launched a new area of their site, Curated x Holstee, following the mantra “Curating with a Conscience.” This is where the Holstee team seeks out some of the most beautiful and innovative sustainable designs and shares them with their community through their video reviews, newsletter, and shop.” Some of their other designed products are The Upcycled Wallet – made of newspapers and plastic bags collected off the streets of India, The People Pendant – made of recycled acrylic scraps from a Chicago-area sign maker, and the Upcycled line of t-shirts – shirts that highlight the lasting value of apparel.

They have a pretty cool Lifecycle Film as well, and rockin’ blog too, where I found these photos:

About Zak Suhar

Student at Mount Union. Outdoor enthusiast. Perspective and jumping photographer. Entrepreneurial mind-setter. Green Bay Packer & Wisconsin sports fan.
This entry was posted in Business, Environment, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Holstee Manifesto: Live Your Dream, Wear Your Passion.

  1. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  2. You have made some good points there. I looked on the net for more info about the issue and found
    most people will go along with your views on this
    site.

  3. Tarah says:

    I personally intend to save this specific article, “The Holstee Manifesto:
    Live Your Dream, Wear Your Passion. | Juicebox” on my website.
    Do you really care in the event that Ido?
    Thank you -Milagro

  4. My brother suggested I might like this website.
    He was once totally right. This publish actually made my day.

    You can not imagine simply how so much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  5. You make the right impression by taking care of how you look in public.
    Glenroyal Chic Bags have a wide range of bags and accessories and cater to all lifestyles.

    Everyone is on a journey; this season you
    can dress like it. The stylish Messenger bag is designed to carry on the shoulder for a comfortable
    and secure feel. http://androidal.org/android_app/ルイ·ヴィトンのおむつ袋-ボックス化解除ルイヴィトンスピーディ30モノグラムハンドバッグルイヴィトンのハンドバッグの人気ルイ内のアイテムを購入ルイヴィトン店で購入するための

  6. Howdy! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I
    needed to ask. Does running a well-established website like yours require a large
    amount of work? I’m brand new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal every day. I’d like to
    start a blog so I can share my personal experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

    • Zak Suhar says:

      Thanks for the comment! Believe it or not, running a a blog is not a large amount of work at all, if you create a clearcut vision for your website. I am a stickler for design and appearance, so setting up my blog took longer than normal, but getting started with WordPress is pretty simple. Feel free to use the contact page if you have any detailed questions for me, otherwise I would recommend researching Blogging 101 tips!

      http://weblogs.about.com/od/bloggingtips/tp/TipsBeginnerBloggers.htm

  7. Tricia says:

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the
    layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

    • Zak Suhar says:

      Thanks Tricia! My theme is actually one of the free ones (Twenty Ten), and I just spent a lot of time editing the appearance and customizing it myself. I appreciate the kind words and hope you keep on reading.

  8. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d
    really appreciate it.

    • Zak Suhar says:

      Thanks for the comment! I haven’t ran into much of this since my site doesn’t generate too many hits, however several people have reached out to me asking permission to repost articles. I think the best way to protect this would to include a note at the bottom of all your posts stating that reposts must include the link back to your source and credit. Otherwise, the other way would be to promote that reposting is strictly not allowed and see what you run into! Hope this helps.

  9. My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  10. Quality articles is the secret to be a focus for the viewers to pay
    a quick visit the web page, that’s what this website is providing.

  11. Dexter says:

    Asking questions are actually nice thing if you are not understanding something fully, however this paragraph gives nice understanding yet.

  12. I hardly leave a response, but i did some searching and wound up here The Holstee Manifesto: Live Your Dream, Wear
    Your Passion. | Juicebox. And I do have some questions for
    you if it’s allright. Is it just me or does it give the impression like a few of the responses come across like they are coming from brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting at other online sites, I would like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you list of all of all your communal pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  13. It’s very trouble-free to find out any matter on net as compared to books, as I found this piece of writing at this web page.

  14. blog here says:

    For latest information you have to visit internet and on the web
    I found this web site as a most excellent website for hottest updates.

  15. Eve says:

    Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can
    recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  16. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

  17. Jessica says:

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve
    joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  18. When someone writes an post he/she keeps the idea of a user
    in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    Thus that’s why this post is outstdanding. Thanks!

  19. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no data backup.

    Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

    • Zak Suhar says:

      Thanks for the comment! I haven’t had any issues with hacking so can’t speak to recommendations, but if I come across any I will be sure to make a post about them.

  20. I almost never write responses, however i did some searching
    and wound up here The Holstee Manifesto: Live Your Dream, Wear Your
    Passion. | Juicebox. And I actually do have a couple of
    questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it look like a few of these remarks come across like they are left by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I’d like to follow
    anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of all of
    your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or
    linkedin profile?

  21. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

